Exterro's Legal GRC Breakdown

Get your daily dose of news, best practices, and technology from Exterro's e-discovery, privacy, and digital forensics experts here.

< BACK TO ALL STORIES

There's Something for Everyone on E-Discovery Day

Created on December 2, 2022


Legal GRC Market Analyst at Exterro

Exterro and our E-Discovery Day partners at ACEDS, EDRM, and eDiscovery Today have been hard at work for several months pulling together the day's events... and we're almost there, with the big event happening Thursday, December 1st! 

This year is the 8th annual celebration of E-Discovery Day, which celebrates the vital and growing role e-discovery professionals play in the legal process. For much of the time, it's the litigators and judges who get all the attention in civil litigation, while in the background, hard-working e-discovery professionals find the relevant information that ultimately determines the outcome of the cases. 

Since we're getting close to the holiday season (meaning those other gift-giving holidays), let's look at what e-discovery-themed gifts we have this year.

For those fascinated with what happens in judges chambers'...

Few figures command respect as much as a judge. Emerging from chambers, dressed in robes, wielding a gavel to silence even the most self-confident attorney, judges cast imposing figures and run the show in the courtroom. Who better to give advice on what to do and what not to do, right? 

If that sounds like you, then for sure you want to attend the Exterro Judges Roundtable on E-Discovery Best Practices, which is kicking off the day's events at 10:00 am Eastern/7:00 am Pacific, with insights from three federal judges.

Register for the Judges Roundtable Here

For the peacemakers...

There are some people (myself included) who don't really like conflict. Maybe that's odd for someone in the legal profession, maybe not. But certainly there's value in finding resolutions to conflicts or bringing in an impartial expert to help resolve a dispute.

If that's your vibe, then you'll definitely want to get the 411 on Special Masters and Mediators, a webinar from EDRM discussing their new bench book on the topic, starting at 11:30 am ET/8:30 am PT.

Register for the 411 on Special Masters and Mediators Here

For the case law buffs out there...

If there's anything in e-discovery that comes close to the true crime obsession that's so popular right now, it's case law. And there's no more entertaining and educational look at case law than the webinars run by eDiscovery Today's Doug Austin, featuring a who's who of the biggest names in the game in a look back at the 7 Most Important Case Law Rulings of 2022 at 1:30 pm ET/10:30 am PT. 

Sign up now to attend the Case Law Review webinar 

For those who love the latest in technology...

The big tech trend in e-discovery (and maybe it's a big tech headache) is figuring out how to handle all the data that's in the ubiquitous collaboration platforms that almost every major organization has embraced over the last few years. One of the best ways to keep up with the trends is to understand what your peers are doing... and that's exactly what ACEDS and Hanzo did when they collaborated on a survey report on Collaboration Data & Corporate readiness, which is the basis for the final webinar of the day at 3:00 pm ET/noon PT. 

And if you want to learn more about why you should attend, check out the latest blog from Jim Gill on the topic on Hanzo's website!

Save your spot at the Collaboration Data Survey webinar

For those who love to see their peers recognized...

EDRM will be hosting the third annual Gayle O'Connor Spirit Award Ceremony at 4:30 ET/1:30 PT, an award given to  celebrate members of the e-discovery and legal technology communities whose singular energy, enthusiasm and verve echo the spirit of the late Gayle O’Connor (1956-2020). You don't need to pre-register, but you can if you want a reminder email.

Join the ceremony on December 1st

Preregister to get a reminder email

For the trivia buffs...

You may recall the well-known Kahoots! hosted by David Greetham during the lockdown... and they're back, with a special E-Discovery Day edition. It's a great way to wrap up the day and have a little fun with your colleagues. Again, there's no need to pre-register, but you might want to so you get a reminder email.

Join the Kahoot

Preregister to get a reminder email

For those who don't want the party to end...

While space is running out fast, there are still some open slots at E-Discovery Happy Hours happening across the country. 

Stop by the E-Discovery Day website to RSVP!